IndieCade is pleased to present:

We Should Talk.

The "We should talk" Team

Visit the IndieCade Twitch Channel!

Schedule of Events

Tuesday, July 14th
10:30AM PDT  (5:30 PM GMT) - 11:30PM  PDT (6:30PM GMT)
Twitter AMA with the We Should Talk team
https://twitter.com/indiecade/

Tuesday, July 14th
3PM PDT  (10:00 PM GMT) - 4:30PM  PDT (11:30PM GMT)
Twitter Book Club - Writers discussing their experiences of the game. Follow using the hashtag #WeShouldTalkBookClub.
https://twitter.com/indiecade/

Wednesday, July 15th
11AM PDT  (6:00 PM GMT) - 12:00PM  PDT (7PM GMT)
Streaming We Should Talk with Jenny Windom.
https://www.twitch.tv/indiecade

Wednesday, July 15th
12AM PDT  (7:00 PM GMT) - 1:00PM  PDT (8PM GMT)
Jesse Vigil and Guest stream We Should Talk. with audience input.
https://www.twitch.tv/indiecade

Wednesday, July 22nd
11AM PDT  (6:00 PM GMT) - 12:00PM  PDT (7PM GMT)
Streaming We Should Talk. with Anthony Carboni of The Star Wars Show.
https://www.twitch.tv/indiecade

Wednesday, July 22nd
12PM PDT  (7:00 PM GMT) - 1:00PM  PDT (8PM GMT)
Zoom Book Club featuring special guests! Tweet Questions to #WeShouldTalkBookClub to participate
https://www.twitch.tv/indiecade

It's not what you say, it's how you say it.

Get 'We Should Talk.' on Steam: https://store.steampowered.com/app/1255990/We_should_talk/

We should talk is a short-form narrative game that will make players think carefully about the words they choose.

Website
Twitter
Instagram

Using the sentence spinner, a unique narrative choice mechanic, players craft sentences in response to the in-game characters in We should talk. Through this careful choice of words, players express themselves as they discuss ongoing problems about life and romance with their in-game partner over text messages, while also chatting with friends and strangers at their favorite local bar about what’s on their mind. The combination of words they choose impacts the conversations they have, how genuinely they can connect with their partner, and whether their relationship can survive the night.

"We should talk" is a short-form narrative game where players think carefully about the words they choose. The key to "We should talk" is the sentence spinner, a unique narrative choice mechanic that lets players express themselves and respond to the in-game characters in a way that most games don't allow.

By carefully choosing their words in this way, players discuss ongoing problems about life and romance with their partner over text messages, while also chatting with friends and strangers at a favorite local bar about what’s on their mind. The combination of words they choose affects how genuine of a connection they have with their partner, which of the many stories they discover, and whether their relationship can survive the night.

Our initial goal with "We should talk" was to create a game that offered a more human, less transactional approach to relationships than we often see in other games. Often we find ourselves playing games where romance and friendship are garnered by gift-giving and saying or doing the "right thing," which doesn't feel true to the nuances of actual relationship-building.


It was not our intention to ask players what it means to be the perfect partner, but rather, we aim to ask them to look into how small changes in conversation can impact the bigger picture, and then we hope they re-play, experimenting to see how different choices might impact the conversations and outcomes. We feel this is a more natural approach to choice design that helps us channel the feelings we have during real-world interactions

Sign up for the IndieCade Newsletter

Subscribe

* indicates required

Please select all the ways you would like to hear from IndieCade:

You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

If you are having trouble with this form, you can also send your name and email information to outreach@indiecade.com with subject line "Sign up for the IndieCade Newsletter".

Alumni Signup
Are you an IndieCade Alumnus? We want to know! If you've been a speaker, organizer, juror, or presented your game at IndieCade or any IndieCade-related showcase (ex. IndieCade @ E3, IndieCade @ SIGGRAPH, etc. - doesn't need to have been a finalist) we'd like to be in touch.